Quit the Job

Do you have a job that drains the life out of you? That makes you want to pull your hair out every day?

I worked at 21st Mortgage Corporation for just over 2 years. I began in reception, and moved several times through Customer Service, and eventually to Land Home where I was in charge of about 100 pre-booked loan files and handled communication between customers, our credit department, title companies, and mobile home dealers. Let me tell ya, mobile home lending is not exciting. The dealers are mean, the company didn’t appreciate us, the supervisors were unclear about tasks, and communication in the entire company was horrible. Absolutely horrible.

Day after day for 2+ years, I got out of bed, put on my office-appropriate workwear, and acted somewhat professional for a bunch of corporate “professionals” who were anything but. I sat at a desk all day. I was simultaneously treated like a child and someone who already knew the position. The company did not trust us to do our jobs, training was nonexistent, and the turnover rate was so high, even if someone was trained, they left quickly, and we had to train another.

Basically, I worked every day for 2+ years for a company I hated, that did not value me. For part of that time, I was in a marriage where I was also unappreciated. If you’ve ever been in a relationship or a job like that, you know how draining it can be to continue to give and give to everyone in your life and receive nothing in return. No “thank you.” It very clearly sucks the life right out of you. The only reason I stayed so long was that they paid fairly well. In my final position, I was making $20/hour plus about a $600 bonus every month. The company isn’t great, but if you’re in Knoxville, TN, and you need a job fresh out of college to pay the bills until you get a better job, go for it. You’ll have to put up with a lot of shit, but if you tough it out, you can save up pretty nicely.

The entire time I worked there, I kept my eye open for other job opportunities. I craved a job where I could move around. I love working with people, and I love moving my body. The office environment was killing me. The stress plus the sedentary lifestyle took a toll on my body and mind. The office refused to provide standing desks, so I spent a good portion of my day sitting, then standing and bending over my desk, then sitting, and so on. The demands of a job I wasn’t trained to do, plus superiors who breathe down your neck stressed me out so much that my blood pressure raised. I gained weight, I lost mobility, I hated everyone and every thing.

Until I quit.

Let me tell you, I’ve had quite a few happy moments in my life, but one of my favorites was my boss asking “why are you quitting?” I looked her right in the eye and said “because I hate it here, and I’m tired of being miserable every day.” It was a win if I made it through the workday without crying. No one should live like that. She asked if I had another job lined up. Nope. Money will figure itself out, and the universe will provide something that is a better fit. It was so wonderful to tell upper management that I was leaving not because I received a better offer, but because I hated everything, and I couldn’t take it anymore. I wanted better for myself.

I walked away from my well-paying, corporate job to be happy.

The universe answered. After applying for all kinds of movement-based jobs on Indeed, LinkdIn, etc., I received a call from a local construction/remodeling company that wanted me to come interview. And that was it. I met them, they loved me, I proved that I can learn at a quick rate in a new trade, and that I’m a good leader. I’ve worked there for 5 months, and I’m now a project manager, and I have a nice little family of guys that I work with.

Guys. Quit the job.

If you are not happy, do something about it. Quit the job. Make the move. Make the changes. Please just do it. You are worth it, and you deserve the best.

bh

Leave a comment